mlskillo.blogg.se

Copy iphoto library to external hard drive
Copy iphoto library to external hard drive








How kind you are to set me right webfrasse. If you edit a image it will result in a new process step and the result will be a new jpg. IPhoto will process the RAW files on import and create jpg's for viewing. That's one of the reasons I don't like iPhoto PS, LR, ACR6, ACDSee, Qimage, iTunes, iPhone4,Epson 4800, Epson CDPrint, chocolate, skiing, Nikons and Canons, Norway, bitter. Not as advanced as LR, AP etc but it's not target for that user group either.ĭidn't expect you to really know or understand any of this, just telling you anyway. There is a feature for it but it will physically make a copy of the original wasting some disk space but the actual processing is more or less the same. The difference is that iPhoto can't easily do different versions of the same raw original. None of the tools you like will edit the raw file. The way that iPhoto treats raw files aren't very different from what LR, AP and others do. I like people that doesn't whine and constantly harp the same story like a broken record. See the movie.or read the manual, it's in there too. Yes, select an event, an album, any number of photos you want.

copy iphoto library to external hard drive

So for each of the Events on my iMac, how do I get the RAW data to the external drive? Thanks for your help. I thought dragging that Event into the external drive would accomplish that, but obviously it didn't.

#COPY IPHOTO LIBRARY TO EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE HOW TO#

I don't even know how to clone - remember, I am a newbie on this stuff). (I don't want to have to clone the entire drive each time I create a single event. What I want to do is every time I create a new Event in iPhoto, say my daughter's birthday party pictures this Saturday, I also want to copy those from my iMac, but also to my external drive. Look under File >Įxport and select Original as format for a file export."įine, but how do I export the RAW data to my external drive to reside there in an organized way? Do I click on each Event and press File>Įxport? I am not in front of my iMac - I am posting from a PC. Dragging raw files wouldn't work anywhere if you for instance wanted to drag it to an email.

copy iphoto library to external hard drive

"When you drag files from the UI they will be exported as jpg's so it's the way it's supposed to happen. Plus, I am fairly new to Mac, so I am not sure the best way to do this until I get Lightroom or Aperture. Unfortunately, you are taliking over my head to some extent. If you do, you risk corrupting your entire iPhoto library. Open the iPhoto libray package and mess with its contents. And keep one off site if you're really thorough about back-up. The best thing would be to use Time Machine with one drive, and clone to several other drives on a rotataing basis. Other options would be to use SuperDuper! to periodically clone your entire internal drive to an external fire wire drive. You could copy the entire iPhoto library package by dragging it to your external drive from time to time, but that could take a long time with a large library. You are trying to back up your files by dragging them into folder, you are doing it the hard way!

copy iphoto library to external hard drive

It automatically processes the RAW file into a Jpeg file, leaving the RAW file untouched in the iPhoto library package, and saves the new file as a Jpeg. When you drag them into folders, you are exporting them as Jpeg files, since that's how iPhoto works. Webfrasse told you how to export the RAW files.








Copy iphoto library to external hard drive